Saturday, September 10, 2011

Bored

So, I'm bored & can't sleep for about the trillionth night in a row.. haha.. so, I'm going to start this thing back up purely for entertainment for myself! So, last weekend was the first weekend of college football :) WAR EAGLE! & even though we played like crap and I yelled at the TV a lot... I still love my tigers! & I have faith that we will get better!

Anyway, last weekend we had girls weekend in Atlanta with all of the women from my mom's side of the family. We had so much fun! I forget how when you are with people that you enjoy being around, you can have fun doing absolutely nothing. Everyone has been asking about the exciting stuff that we did while we were there & I feel like I'm disappointing them when I say that we didn't really do anything that grand. We ate, went shopping, ate, drank wine, ate, laughed, met random Boise State fans, drank more wine, ate more, talked, watched lots of drag queens walk around, ate, realized how absolutely nuts our family is & ... ate! haha I love just being able to do normal, every day things and have a blast while doing them. I'm glad that I have a family that I enjoy being around... people that are crazy, but just plain fun. So, to the interesting parts of the weekend. There was a lot of stuff going on in Atlanta while we were there... some sci-fi convention, Georgia v. Boise State, GA Tech's first game & the icing on the cake... pride weekend... and I'm pretty sure it was African American gay pride weekend. We saw some of the most interesting people ever! My mom, aunt & I were eating lunch and watching the Auburn game at the local mall & I noticed that there were a lot of very polished, overly quaffed men around us. I leaned over & told my mom that there was no way that I could live in Atlanta if those were the kind of men that there were to choose from... the very metro-sexual kind of men... not for me! As we were walking around, I noticed that these men were not just metro. Then out of the corner of my eye I see this interesting looking woman walking toward me... as it turns out, it wasn't a woman. That is why she was so interesting looking. Now, no one in my family was bothered by what we saw or the people that were around us... we all are very open minded and want people to be happy. It was just shocking the volume of these men or women (I guess) that were around us. It was definitely some of the best people watching I'd done in a while.

The next interesting occurance happened on our first night. There was a family reunion that was staying on our floor in the hotel. These people even had matching purple tshirts made! So, they were a rowdy bunch to say the least. One of their members decided to put on a concert as he was walking down the hall at 3:30 a.m. It took me a while to figure out what exactly he was singing, but when he got to "& everybody's hands go UP" complete with many explitives that I'm pretty sure aren't actually in the song... I knew what he was singing. Haha. On the second night, at about the same time, someone made this weird bang on our door... but that was all we heard so we didn't think that much about it. Come to find out, the madres, who were staying just a little further down the hall, got the full on treatment from these boys. Apparently, they were drunk and playing some sort of game... running up and down the hall with a big push broom (hence, the weird bang on our door). My mom (A.K.A. "The Sheriff" haha) goes out there to tell them that she is calling security ("sakurity, SAkurity"). One of them was like "no, no, don't call... I'll take care of them" & then proceeds to offer her a drink lol. While these little disruptions were annoying at the time, we all had a good laugh about them the next days... & hey, they make good stories! lol

No comments:

Post a Comment